OUR REVIEWS & TESTIMONIALS

These reviews of the Utility Bill Helpline have been submitted by our customers and are excerpts taken from what they have written. Accordingly, they are true and genuine statements and adhere to the advertising standards authority code of conduct. We hope this assures you of our intention and the value of our service, we can help and do help many businesses save money!

Have you been the victim of any kind of scam as we may be able to get you your money back

British customers are falling foul to many different scams and it is estimated that as customers we are losing roughly £3.5 billion per year. That works out at roughly £70 per adult living in the United Kingdom. This is a lot of money for the people of the UK.

The Office of Fair Trading has decided that tackling scams and the tricksters behind them is a priority and has engaged in comprehensive research into who is falling for these scams and why they are falling for them. The Director of Consumer Protection at the OFT has said that ‘’Scammers are finding more ruthless and sophisticated ways to exploit modern tools such as the internet, email or text messaging. These scams can deeply affect individuals and families, sometimes leading to debt, depression, and even suicide. Though anybody can be conned by the scammers, it is always the vulnerable – the oldest or youngest – who end up suffering the most.’

This is a really sorry story and the research shows that no-one is safe from the fraudsters, all demographics of people are falling into the traps that are being laid, and although the elderly are often scammed out of the most money, the most common age group falling for scams is 35-44-year-olds.

The majority of scams, which are now mass marketed via email, post, textphone, are offering something unbelievably tempting for comparatively little ‘input’ from the victim. A small upfront payment, the premium phone line you need to call to claim your prize, offer, deal or sale.

Worryingly the fraudsters share and sell your details so as soon as you fall victim to your first fraudster you can rest assured you will receive contact from many more.

Don’t fall prey to any kind of mass marketed scams that are so prevalent right now. If it sounds like it’s an incredible offer, opportunity or prize – make sure you thoroughly research before giving your money, details or signature.

If you think you have been the victim of any kind of scam then you need to contact us today to see if we can try to help you get your money back.

November 2014 - Mrs Watts from Somerset wrote

'Hi, I'm absolutely delighted, I was a little sceptical but I have a refund of £217.59' The total saving made so far is £310.86,

Maggie from Berkshire wrote

'Good morning, just got back from our holiday it was amazing, better still good news! We have received £3,008.42 into our bank on the 27th October 2014 from Windsor and Maidenhead Council. Thanks for all your efforts it is so great to know that someone out there is willing to do what they say and not scam us.' ' You have been supportive and fast with your reactions. Thank you! once again, it was good to deal with someone who did not run off with my money'

Jan from Clitheroe has been in touch again and wrote

'I write with reference to the mis-selling of a business rates agent and due to the Utility bill helpline the VOA have now reassessed my building and I have received a refund saving about £8,600'

Your service is excellent, your communication is prompt and valuable and I would recommend you to anyone!

The Garibaldi wrote

'Our bill has gone from £3,699.00 per annum to £360.00 ish per annum!!!!' 'we have saved £3,238.22' 'Very proffessional, please feel free to give my number out to anyone who wants a verbal recommendation' 'Thank you, I think you and your company are fantastic you know! My other half gave a phone reference yesterday, the guy was very wary and has lost £100's on fake companies that claim to do what you guy's actually do, they just don't do it! I'll be happy to talk to lots more potential clients for you! have a good weekend : )'

Jeff from Northants wrote

'I posted the letter you drafted and am happy to say we had a good result with SNC (South Northamptonshire Council) They have paid up! so please go ahead with my other case!'

Fish Bar from Leicestershire wrote

'I have received today, a cheque from Melton Borough Council for £472.00 YIPPY! Thanks'

Lloyds Debit Card refund Guvinder in full for a transaction made during December 2012 to Laneset UK Limited

"I'm very happy with the service, you have always been very helpful and always kept me up to date with what is going on. I couldn't be happier especially after my experience with Laneset UK Limited. "I paid the agent £120.00 on a debit card, which has now been refunded"  "I rate your service 5 out of 5, I am very happy with the quality of service, response, advice, communication, friendliness and professionalism, and I would definitely recommend you"

Caron from Braintree wrote

"Morning, just switched my home energy supplier via my membership and saved £361.00 :-) I have gone for the lower daily charge over lower tariffs, because my son is off to university next month, so I think I may use less electricity"

Peter Foster wrote

'Hi, just got a cheque from the District Council for £6,073.00. Many, many thanks for your help!!!' 

Peter' also has energy issues, his energy supplier was Npower for his gas supply and he wrote - 'Npower had been charging us far too much for years, notice of termination had to be sent by July 20th, so I have already done this. Is this something you can look at, now?'

The Red Lion in Lincs wrote

'Friendly, informative staff. Good communication with myself' 'I have saved £1,000.00 so far'

Katie from Norfolk wrote to us after having problems with Scottish Power asking for our help and now she has been refunded by Scottish Power and additionally had her business rates reduced

'Brilliant as always' 'Thanks Charles'

Dear Charles - Thank you for taking the time to speak with me this morning. Firstly, I would like to apologise for the time it has taken to resolve your clients query. As discussed, we have recently had our billing system upgraded which, in some cases unfortunately, is preventing invoices from being produced. However, I have been able to produce a manual invoice using meter readings of 13354 and 10902 as at the 31st March 2014. The revised invoice is showing a credit balance due to your client of £236.78 and I will ensure the invoice is posted today. I have also raised a refund cheque for £236.78 which will arrive with your client in the next 10 working days. I hope the above finds you well. If you have any queries regarding the above please do not hesitate to contact me. Many Thanks & Kind Regards - Scottish Power

Sarah from Leamington Spa wrote

I joined Utility Bill Helpline as I was scammed by a rating company and they tied up my opportunity to appeal. Although, I joined for this reason, I switched my private gas and electricity for my home and saved £1,000, so I was very pleased.

Ms Flide of Cornwall wrote

"In a few words second to none. Delivered what you promised. Charlie who I dealt with was very professional & efficient with a friendly approach" "We have had nearly £6,000.00 back in rates payment"

 

Business in SN15 3HP wrote

"I saved over £2,000" "We would definitely recommend the Utility Bill Helpline service" 

D. Langford of Watford wrote

"I was slightly sceptical about the whole thing at first but the service received so far has been excellent and we have reclaimed some money which is fantastic. We reclaimed over £8,000.00"

Patio & Tile wrote

"Initially I was very cautious about signing up but having done so, response to any communication has been rapid and advice given has been very satisfactory." "I have saved £2000 off my rates bill over the next two years. Not a bad start..."

Pearl Davenport and Logan Limited (PDL) & Higgins and Thomas Limited failed to reduce Christine´s business rates

Charles Lawson, is dealing with my case, which is for a rates appeal and charges made by companies who take a fee upfront, yet fail to log the appeal effectively, basically taken this fee under false pretences...

Charles Lawson, has been a massive benefit to me and has just secured a reduction on my rateable value, for which I am extremely grateful to him, because not only is he doing his job but he actually cares whole heartedly about me as a person and understands my position, for which I am extremely grateful to this man...A big thank you to him.

We have saved approximately 6K to date and hopefully more to come.... I would like to thank you for being sucessful in getting me a refund and reduction on my business rates ....

 

Hayley from Merseyside wrote

Hi, Barclaycard rang my husband tonight (Thursday 15th January 2015) they have refunded us and it should be credited to our account as of tomorrow. You are very professional, I have felt in safe hands. You have been fantastic, with all the help and advice given over the last 5months. Without Utility Bill Helpline I would still be fighting for what was owed to my business. Can't thank you enough. - Many Thanks - Hayley

 

Paul Walden

Hi, I just received a cheque for a full refund from Barclaycard yesterday. Thanks for all your help''I don't even bank with them anymore! With the help of Utility Bill helpline, I gained a full refund of money paid out to a company meant to be acting to reduce my business rates that failed to do so and then went into administration.

 

05th February 2015 - Cath from Barnsley Wrote

Hi - I have received a letter today from the Halifax and I am pleased to let you know that they are refunding me the large upfront fee which I paid to a business rates agent. I would like to take this opportunity to thank you very much for all the assistance and advice you have given me in resolving this matter. Thanks once again  - Cath
 

09th February 2015 - Christine - Upfront Business Rates fee refunded in full plus an extra £75.00 for the upset and frustration

I can't believe it! You did it!! Sometimes it is hard to be patient.  If they say they can do it, they can.  Be patient. Thank you.

 

11th February 2015 - Simon is refunded the upfront fee in full by The Halifax plus interest from 2011

Hi, Please find attached a letter from the Halifax agreeing to the refund. Kind regards - Simon

 

 

17th February 2015 - Lloyds refund Martyn in full for a 2010 payment taken by a business rates agent

I have just had a phone call from Lloyds credit card to say they will honour the claim and it will be credited to my account. I will not be able to see this until approx 3rd of March when the statement arrives but I will keep you posted. Fantastic service and very friendly: I didn't know that I had a claim on my rates, but Utility Bill Helpline advised me and I am now awaiting a full refund. Effortless work my end, Utility Bill Helpline did all the work. Also they searched for a cheaper supplier for electric which I found  I would make a good saving over a 12 month period – so far saved £820.00. - "TOP QUALITY"

 

20th February 2015 - Lloyds Bank refund yet another member of The Utility Bill Helpline the upfront fee they previously paid to an agent

Please find attached a copy of the response from Card Services at Lloyds. We have opted to leave the money in credit. Sorry for the delay in sending this on. Many Thanks - Nick

 

20th February 2015 - Vincent Lloyd Limited totally misled James from Kent

Hi Charles, Received a letter back from the council regarding biz rates at the hopbine and they are going to refund everything back to us. Thanks very much! How are you getting on with The Poet? Regards - James

 

 

24th February 2015 - Michael from York the victim of a business rates scam refunded by Lloyds Bank in full

Money being replaced on card thank you - Michael

 

14th March 2015 - Lloyds refund Dan in full for a payment made to a business rates agent

I have had a letter from Lloyds confirming that they will be refunding the monies for the payment so thanks for that.

 

Carter Mills And Company Limited & Pearl Davenport and Logan Limited took large upfront fees in their business rates scam.

Canterbury City Council wrote to Keith after we advised him to contact them: "Revised bills confirming this will be issued shortly. This has resulted in an overpayment for the 2014/15 rating year of £413.70 which I have requested to be refunded back into your bank account".

 

 

Walter from Lancashire gets his business rates massively reduced thanks to our Unique Membership from £7,600.00 per year to only £3,000.00

WE HAVE HAD LETTERS FROM THE LOCAL COUNCIL INFORMING US OF THE CHANGE IN THE RATES AND THAT THEY WILL REFUND THE MONIES PAID DIRECTLY INTO OUR BANK ACCOUNT.....WHICH AS FAR AS I KNOW HAS STILL TO BE PAID..I WILL LET YOU KNOW WHEN IT DOES....... MANY THANKS FOR YOUR EFFORTS ON OUR BEHALF AND FOR ALL THE HELP YOU HAVE GIVEN US OVER THE LAST YEAR. REGARDS............WALTER

 

 

30th March 2015 - Barclaycard Commercial Credit Card refund one of our members £948.00 taken during 2011 by a business rates agent

Hi Charles - I have received a letter from Barclaycard and they have agreed to pay the disputed amount of £948.00 plus an additional £100.00 in compensation. I would like to also take this opportunity to thank you for your help and assistance. Very helpful, kept up to date with any developments. Would definitely recommend to others. Wasn't sure in the beginning if we could recoup the money we spent with a previous utility bill company, but they worked their magic!! - Kind regards - Amanda/Graeme

 

 

Carter and Wooster Limited take £474.00 upfront and then do nothing in return.

 

As soon as Jaimie activated her membership to The Utility Bill Helpline we could see immediately that Carter and Wooster Limited had not done anything that was in the best interest of Jaimie or her business. On the 02nd December 2014 we arranged to contact Jaimie's Local Council and on the 02nd March 2015 Jaimie advised us that she had received a payment from them for the sum of £810.96.

Hi - Sorry for the delay in getting this to you, I have been on Holiday!  Please find attached a copy of our latest rates bill. If you require any additional information, please don't hesitate to contact me.

Kindest regards - Jaimie 

 

Paul from North Wales gets his business rates reduced once he activated his membership to The Utility Bill Helpline.

 

I was a bit sceptical at 1st,but money well spent and very quick with responses and advise.. keep it up :-) I know 100% i would not of sorted my problems out without this company.......Paul

 

 

Barclaycard refund one of our members in full plus £300.00 in inconvenience charges for a payment made in late 2011 to a business rates agent

I have just this minute received a telephone call from another person at Barclaycard, who has apologised for everything and they are refunding me in full today to my account plus £300.00 inconvenience charges!!!! He is sending me a letter in the post to detail all this today!!!! I am in shock!!! I will email you across this letter as soon as i receive it. Thank You - Kind Regards - Justine

So Far I have saved £4500.00 with advice given by Utility Bill Helpline in relation to my business rates.

 

 

 

28th April 2015 - Peter from Middlesex gets his business rates reduced on a VO Notice thanks to The Utility Bill Helpline

Once Peter had activated his membership he asked us to look into the rateable value on his premises and when we contested it with The Valuation Office they agreed to reduce his rateable value from £4,600.00 to £4,300.00 on a VO Notice.

 

 

Kevin from Weston-Super-Mare paid £600.00 upfront to Hammer Properties and gets nothing in return.

 

On the 20th April 2015 Kevin wrote: They have applied for the business rates reduction for 2015-16, but have said that they cannot retrospectively apply last year’s reduction.

As soon as Kevin advised us of this we immediately contacted his Local Council for him, after which Kevin again contacted us.

On the 27th April 2015 Kevin wrote: As off this morning a person from the council phoned up to tell us we are entitled to the £1000 from last year, and they had made an error and we have had it added as a discount to this year’s rates. Thank you - Kevin

On the 30th April 2015 Royston from Somerset gets a business rates refund of £5,000.00 from his Local Council thanks to The Utility Bill Helpline

Once Royston had activated his membership he asked us to look into the business rates on his premises and when we contested it with his Local Council, within 8 weeks his Local Council agreed to apply a credit onto his bills for the sum of £5,000.00.

Additionally Royson has now e-mailed us as he has a major problem with British Gas and this is the next thing we are going to look into for him.

Hi, British Gas - we have changed supplier and British Gas have taken £7,111.27 from my account today.   I spoke to a lady call Santana at 15.25pm on the 29/04/15 who informs me that yes she can see we were charged higher bills but we would have to pay out of our money a meter reading test.  I do not see how this would help as the last few bills from British Gas seem fine.   There was obviously an issue at the time. If I provide you with the last years bills, would you be able to assist me with this matter or do I write direct to Complaints at British Gas????? 
 

05th May 2015 - Paul from Chelmsford gets a full refund for a payment he made to a business rates agent in 2010

 

We have received the payment from Lloyds bank regarding Higgins & Thomas. YOU HELPED ME GET BACK MONEY OWED BY THE BUSINESS RATE AGENT - WE GOT REFUNDED IN FULL. Many thanks - Paul

07th May 2015 - Vincent Lloyd Limited totally misled Ian from Wigan with their verbal guarantees

Hi - Just spoke to wigan and they have applied the refund for last year which means we don't have to pay any business rates this year and they will be sending a credit. Thanks for your assistance Regards- Ian

 
 

14th May 2015 - The Utility Bill Helpline reduces the rateable value for Janet from Shropshire from £15,000.00 to £12,500.00 on a VO Notice

 

COMMUNICATION WAS EXCELLENT. ALL QUERIES I HAD WERE RESPONDED TO QUICKLY & EFFICIENTLY - JANET

 

 

19th May 2015 - The NatWest refund a victim of Hammer Properties £600.00 plus interest for their mis-selling during 2014

They have reimbursed us the full amount plus interest, so many thanks for your perseverance. Kind regards - Giles

 

 

21st May 2015 - Virgin Money refund Barry £1,221.00 for an upfront fee he paid on his Debit Card to a business rates agent in 2013 and 2014

 

I have received a letter from virgin money. They are accrediting my account with £825 pounds. This relates to the two disputed transactions. They  are making an offer of good will of £396 to cover half of  the other transaction which was for the sum of £792.00. It was a good experience and accomplished what we set out to do - £1221 a good result. Regards - Barry

 

27th May 2015 - Mason James & Company Limited based in Coventry totally misled Michael from Somerset and took £495.00 from him

hi I have had a credit for £1000 from the council for the year 2014/15 and have just had back  new rates for 2015/16 they have taken off £1500 thank you very very much for drawing this to my attention most grateful . regards mick

 

 

02nd June 2015 - Corporate Energy Support Solutions Limited misled Tracy from Kent in relation to her Energy at her business

 

I received a letter on Saturday morning telling me I have had £1000 taken off my business rates bill and my payments have been adjusted. Kind regards - Tracy

Tracy has also had an additional £1,500.00 applied to her business rates bill for 2015/16 which has helped her business enormously in these difficult economic times.

 

04th June 2015 - Pam from Kent gets her Debit Card refunded in full for the sum of £720.00 by The Nationwide for the mis-selling of The Clements Agency Group

The Nationwide stated:

Your account has been credited with £720 and backdated to the date of the transactions.

Pat who is Pams sister wrote us a quick note:

Thank you for all you are doing for my Sister   Pat

I am the Licensee living in Kent and had been subjected to three companies all convincing me that they could reduce my Rates.   All three companies rang at vulnerable times ie just as I was about to open or in the middle of my busy time.   Each time I am afraid to say I fell for their banter allowing myself to pay up front for their initial services.   Since dealing with The Utility Bill Helpline I have not looked back and they have so far had refunded one of these companies payments and are looking into others on my behalf.   Thank you Utility - Pam

 

16th June 2015 - 6 Year Energy Audit - Lloyds Bank refund Marks Debit Card in full for the sum of £162.50 for the mis-selling of Corporate Energy Support Solutions Limited during 2013

Refund from Lloyds successful - Refunded in full - Bring on Higgins and Thomas - Mark 

 

 

Member from Cumbria gets their rateable value reduced thanks to The Utility Bill Helpline after being mis-sold by a business rates agent

Thanks to The Utility Bill Helpline a member from Cumbria has had their rateable value reduced down form £12,000.00 to £7,700.00 after they were completely misled by a business rates agent during 2012. This will now reduce the financial liability of the ratepayer by thousands of pounds a year.

 

 

Cath from Yorkshire gets her Energy price reduced thanks to The Utility Bill Helpline

Hi, A few weeks ago I had an email from you regarding my energy supply. I have received a letter from my current supplier informing me that my contract ends 4/11/2015 and if I wish to change supplier I need to let them know in writing by 5/8/2015 otherwise it will automatically renew for another 12 months. My new tariff will be 20p per day standing charge and 14.220 pence per unit, day rate. Do you know of any other supplier who can supply cheaper than this?  Thank you, Cath
 
Hi, Thanks for the information you sent me regarding energy prices. This morning I have contacted my current provider and have got the price reduced to 11.08pence per unit and 20pence per day standing charge for a 2 year contract. Once again thank you. Cath
 

07th August 2015 - Stuart from Yorkshire gets a £637.50 refund from his Barclays Mastercard for transactions he made to Hammer Properties during March 2010

Hi  Have double checked and the payment has been made. Kind regards - Stuart

 

 

10th August 2015 - Peter from Buckinghamshire gets a £2,500.00 refund after being misled by Vincent Lloyd Limited and Richardson & Carmichael Surveyors

After only 8 weeks The Utility Bill Helpline has already arranged for a £2,500.00 refund for Peter and we are currently dealing with the mis-selling issues caused by both these companies in an attempt to get justice for Peter for and the blatant lack of representation he has received form both these companies for their alleged services. 

 

11th August 2015 - Wendy from Gloucestershire switches her home energy in her 14 day cooling off period and saves £350.00 per year

Thanks - I have switched both gas & electricity for our personal use saving approx. £350.00 per year - Regards - Wendy

 

 

12th August 2015 - NatWest refunds David in full from Cornwall for a payment made to a business rates agent in early 2012

Hello Charles - We’ve received confirmation from NatWest that they are going to reimburse us in full.  We just need to sign letter and send back to them. Teresa

 

 

26th August 2015 - Louise from Kent gets her rateable value reduced by £750.00 and gets a £2,500.00 refund thanks to The Utility Bill Helpline

Louise has now received a full refund of £2,500.00 against her business rates bill and had her rateable value has been reduced down from £11,250.00 to £10,500.00 thanks to our help.

 

Lloyds refund Phil in Essex in full a payment taken in 2012 by a business rates agent

Phil activated his membership during April 2015 to The Utility Bill Helpline after not knowing where to turn when a business rates company had charged him an upfront fee of £420.00 during 2012 when they said they could reduce the business rates on his premises but like so many others once the payment had been made the promises simply disappeared.

 

 

Adam from Buckinghamshire joins The Utility Bill Helpline after being totally misled by Mason James and Company Limited then gets £1,500.00 credited to his business rates bill within 6 weeks of joining

Adam activated his membership via our website in June 2015 after being told by Mason James and Company Limited that they could guarantee to reduce the business rates on his premises in return for a large upfront fee of £474.00 and like so many others he paid the fee in advance, after which their promises simply disappeared into thin air. When Adam sent us over all his Utility Bills for his premises we noticed immediately that Mason James and Company Limited had not only taken this money from Adam with their false promises but they had not even checked his business rates bill as we noticed immediately that his premises had not been granted with retail relief. We immediately notified Adams Local Council about this and he has just advised us that his bill had now been credited with the sum of £1,500.00.

 

 

HSBC refund Simon from Worcestershire £235.00 for a transaction that was made during 2010 to a business rate agent

HSBC have agreed to the refund as a gesture of goodwill! This has been applied as of today. So this appears to have closed the matter. Regards - Simon

 

06th October 2015 - Phil from Hertfordshire is refunded in full £420.00 by The NatWest that he paid upfront to a business rates agent during late 2012

After checking back through my records the NatWest have reimbursed me in July but had not notified me of the fact, so all looks good and they paid £420.00 the full amount. Regards - Phil

 

Hilary from Middlesex gets a full refund on her Debit Card from Lloyds Bank for a payment made on the 10th February 2012 by a business rates agent

Just to let you know that I have just spoken to Lloyds Bank, they will be refunding the money today. They will be sending a letter in the post, which i will forward in due course. Kind regards - Hilary

Hilary has also had refunds of £2,500.00 thanks to our advice which has really helped her business with her cash flow.

 
 
 

20th November 2015 - Sodi from Warwickshire gets a refund of £1,515.12 on his business rates bill thanks to The Utility Bill Helpline

Thanks to The Utility Bill Helpline Sodi has now had a refund of £1,515.12 against overpaid business rates and we are currently dealing with the mis-selling that Sodi has been the victim of. 

 
 

23rd November 2015 - Jim from Lancashire gets a full refund from The NatWest for a payment taken off his Charge Card during late 2010

Hi Charles, I am delighted to tell you that I have, yesterday received a letter from Natwest offering me a complete refund. I have duly signed the acceptance form and returned it today. It just proves the point that you know exactly what you are doing and persistence is so important. I would have given up months ago but am eternally grateful to you and will be forever in your debt. I cannot thank you enough and it is now imprinted on my mind never to enter into any stupid contracts like the rate reduction farce which came about by being too busy at the time and not thinking properly what I was doing. It is the sort of thing I always advise people against and then fall into the trap myself. One of the most prominent feelings, possibly more than the upset of loosing the money, was anger at myself for doing something so stupid. This just makes my weekend perfect and thank you once again for your help and all the very best to you and your family for the festive season. Kind Regards - Jim

 
 

Stella from Essex who was previously misled by a business rates agent refunded by her Local Council thanks to The Utility Bill Helpline

Hi  - We received our rate relief of £1000 yesterday. Thanks for your help - we just need to get the Higgins and Thomas thing sorted now! Stella 

 

01st December 2015 - Liz from Cornwall has just e-mailed us again in relation to the services that we offer to business owners all over the UK

Hi Charles, I have now closed my business and also I have decided not to pursue HSBC and I know I am letting the big boys win but so be it. Thank you so much for all your help in the past and the great help you and your company were in reducing my Rates & for the rebate you allowed me to receive. I will definitely recommend you & your company to others should they need help. Thanks again - Kind Regards - Liz
 
 
 

 

Robert from Devon claims he was previously misled by a business rates agent refunded by his Local Council thanks to The Utility Bill Helpline

Discount received still trying to find payments made to the agent, believe thrown out in disgust  eventuaĺly!!!

 

04th December 2015 - Caron from Buckinghamshire contacts us to sign up to a second years membership to The Utility Bill Helpline

Caron was a member of The Utility Bill Helpline at her old premises from the 29th August 2014 where we managed to get her a refund of £3,238.22 from her business rates bill reducing her annual liability down from £3,699.00 to around £360.00 a year until she left the premises during July 2015. When we reduced the financial liability for Caron during 2014 she stated as follows: 

Very professional, please feel free to give my number out to anyone who wants a verbal recommendation. 

This morning Caron has now e-mailed us in relation to re-activating her membership on her new premises.

Hi we have now moved! We are now living at .................................................................We also are getting the lease of a cafe in .................................. that runs on electricity only no gas. We need to choose our new suppliers rather quickly. So if someone wants to contact me to sign me up I'm happy to give my card details which will change when business starts. Kind Regards - Caron

 

07th December 2015 - Kevin from Gloucestershire e-mails The Utility Bill Helpline over an Energy problem with e.on asking for our help to try and resolve this matter on behalf of his business

Am i right in thinking that as part of my membership you can help with issues with other utility bills? I received a few months ago a bill from my electricity supplier EON which covered more than a year’s supply, apparently they had issues issuing a bill and are now trying to get me to pay more than £13k in one hit or will cut me off !! I have tried repeatedly to deal with them both by email and telephone but appear to be hitting my head of a brick wall, is this something you could step in and deal with? Its a nightmare - Kind regards - Kevin

 

 

09th December 2015 – Steve from Wiltshire gets a full refund on his Debit Card form Lloyds Bank for the sum of £464.13 for a payment he made to a business rates agent in 2010

Hi - Just had a call from Claire from Lloyds who has agreed and has put the £464.13 back into our account. Cheers - Steve

 

16th December 2015 - Gary from The North West of England saves over £1,000.00 against invoices he had received from business rate agents for their alleged services

Gary has had various problems with various business rate agents over the years in relation to his premises and thanks to The Utility Bill Helpline he has just saved himself over £1,000.00 that he was being pursued for by a business rates agent for their alleged services.

Hi - I never contacted any of the company's , they either came into my premises or phoned me , also I am not sure how I have 3 companies to deal with  But they are phoning all the time asking for payments Regards Gary

 

17th December 2015 - David from Pembrokeshire switches his Home Energy after our advice and saves himself around £300.00

Made switch in the end from British Gas to Sainsbury’s energy approx £300 saving - regards - David

 

 

Jim Rowan gets a refund from The NatWest Bank for the sum of £4,489.83 thanks to the advice of The Utility Bill Helpline

Hi Charles - I am delighted to inform you that the advice to pursue a claim against Natwest for the historic payments to an overdraft protection policy was once again first class. I have just received notification that they have upheld my complaint and offered to pay £4489.83 which I have immediately accepted. Many thanks once again for all your assistance. - Kind Regards - Jim

 
 
 
 
 

Ian from Essex gets his rateable value reduced down from £18,250.00 to £16,250.00 thanks to The Utility Bill Helpline

Thank you for confirming this. We look forward to receiving the refund. Kind regards Ian - Yes we received it last Thursday 24th March 2016 at £16,250.00 per year. We also received a refund from the district Council in the sum of £2,005.00.  Kind regards, Ian

 

 

Thanks to The Utility Bill Helpline The Financial Ombudsman agrees that HSBC should refund David in full for an upfront payment made to a business rates agent

The last letters did the trick well done and thank you so much the Ombudsman wrote today saying we should receive a full refund. I will tell my neighbours who I know have been stung by the unscrupulous and recommend your firm. Another thing after your work I changed my Electricity supplier from EDF to Scottish Power it was not an easy change over because EDF botched their end. Did you or should you get a fee for arranging the change. Thanks again for everything in total you have saved me around £1200. It is probably better than that as we offset your fees as a running expense.  But what is more important is that these unscrupulous firms are not getting away with it. Yours Sincerely - David

 
 

Steve from Manchester was being threatened by Debt Collectors over an alleged payment owed to British Gas for the sum of £3,757.05 and thanks to The Utility Bill Helpline the Debt Collecting Agent has closed their file on this matter

Hi  I have an issue with British gas that I need some advice on. Details attached including bank statements showing the final invoice payments. My question is do I have grounds for a complaint and how do I deal with the credit company who have added extra costs to the outstanding balance? Regards - Steve

 
 
 

02nd March 2016 - Vernon from Devon has just posted us his business rates bill and has had £2,500.00 off his business rates thanks to The Utility Bill Helpline

Now that Vernon has sent us his business rates bill confirming the relief has now been applied we will continue to deal with the problems caused by the two previous agents to determine if in fact the rateable value is correct or not on his premises and additionally see if there is any way we can attempt to get back the fees Vernon paid upfront for their alleged services.

 
 

Barclays refund John from Cornwall for an upfront fee he paid to a business rates agent during late 2011

Please find attached letter from Barclays received today.  Best wishes - John

 
 

31st March 2016 - Paul from Wales gets compensation from Scottish Power which amounts to nearly £260.00

Hi, Scottish power phoned me they offered me free standing charge on which adds up to about £120 and £140 gesture of goodwill.  They gave me a better tarrif also and backdated it - Regards - Paul
 
Paul has already saved over £3,000.00 since he activated his membership 2 years ago and he is looking forward to using our services for many years to come.
 
 

Andy saves £540.00 after using the services of The Utility Bill Helpline after being threatened by a business rates agent for their alleged services

I have not paid them yet but the last time they rang they said they were going to pass it along to their legal dept 
What about if they send heavies around with out warning. I've had no reply from them since the last letter they sent - Andy

 

 
 

12th April 2016 - Gary from County Durham is refunded in full the sum of £450.00 by HSBC for a payment made to a business rates agent in mid 2013

Hi  - Just to let you know we have received a full refund from HSBC in relation to our mis selling claim Regards - Gary 

 

12th June 2016 - Stuart from Cornwall is refunded in full by HSBC for an upfront fee he paid to a business rates agent in 2012

Stuart has just sent us an e-mail advising that HSBC have agreed to refund him in full for a payment that was made to a business rates agent during 2012.

Hi 

I have had the attached letter from HSBC offering to settle the amount. I assume I just sign where indicated etc. Does it matter that the name is wrong on the acceptance. They’ve used my middle name as my surname for some strange reason.
I await you advice 
Regards
Stuart
 
 

15th June 2016 - Lloyds refund Jonny from Berkshire for an upfront payment he made to a business rates agent on his Debit Card in late 2011

Jonny from Berkshire has just sent us an e-mail advising us that Lloyds Bank Plc have given him a refund of £889.00 for a payment plus interest and costs that was taken from his debit card during 2011 by a business rates agent where he was told verbally by the agent that they would reduce the business rates on his premises. Jonny joined The Utility Bill Helpline on the 02nd July 2014 and whilst his membership has been active he has also received £2,500.00 off his business rates bill at his premises which has helped with the cash flow at his business massively. 

Morning Charles
 
Good news.
 
I have today received a letter from Lloyds apologising for the poor service regarding my complaint. They have refunded a total of £889.00.
 
Very happy with that and thank you for all you have done.
 
Regards
 
Jonny 
 

13th July 2016 - Karen from Sussex gets her rateable value reduced to £7,400.00 thanks to The Utility Bill Helpline

Karen from Sussex has her rateable value reduced which had to be done on a VO Notice due to a previous business rates agent blocking her legal right to contest the 2010 RV on her premises for which they charged Karen a large upfront fee for their alleged services. 

 

 

Julie from Northamptonshire gets £2,500.00 rebate off her business rates bill on the 28th September 2016 thanks to The Utility Bill Helpline

Hi Charles - I received the attached towards the end of last week. Thank you - Julie

 

Richard from Cumbria resolves a problem with BT in minutes after taking the advice of The Utility Bill Helpline only 14 days after activating his membership

I also have a query regarding BT and my phone bill, who would I speak to regarding that? I am now out of contract, and questioned certain charges on my bill : My regular chargers are £51.48 - Made up of £16 line renal, £17 broadband And the difference (that I knew nothing about) is a monthly charge for a one line entry into the phone book!!!!! Can I do anything about the Phone book entry charge? After taking our advice, after Richard called BT, Richard e-mailed us as follows: - I have spoken to BT. It appears they sent letters out last October stating the free listing was now being charged at £15 per month. There was no hesitation in refunding my accoun so much so I suspect they have done this to everybody. 

 

 

14th October 2016 - Steve from the Northwest saves over £1,700.00 thanks to The Utility Bill Helpline

I am very aware of the volume of 'rogue traders' in the Rates appeals sector..they are everywhere and have no intention of working with anyone but yourselves going forward.

 

01st November 2016 - Frank from Lancashire gets his rateable value reduced by £3,300.00 thanks to The Utility Bill Helpline

Hi Charles - I confirm I have now revised the 2017 Draft List Rateable Value following review of the trade information you sent over. Attached is a Summary Valuation showing a breakdown of the revised Rateable Value - £12,150. 

 

03rd November 2016 - Adam from Yorkshire advises us that he has been refunded nearly £1,000.00 by Barclaycard for a payment made to a business rate agent in 2012

Please see attached visa statement showing the credit. Thank you very much for the assistance that has been provided it has been much appreciated!  Thank you and regards - Adam

 

 

01st December 2016 - Tracey from the Northeast saves over £650.00 thanks to The Utility Bill Helpline

Tracey activated her membership during August 2016 due to the problems she had experienced with so called business rate agents and thanks to our help she has now saved herself over £650.00 after taking our advice.

Hi

 
Not heard or received anything at all from them, all gone extremely quiet!
 
Many Thanks
Kind Regards
Tracey 
 
 

01st January 2017 - David e-mails us about his refund from HSBC due to the mis-selling of a business rates agent in 2010

Dear Charles - I have to tell you that I have just seen on my company Visa Statement that we have just received the refund in full back from HSBC. I hope that they learn, chase these people and put up legislation to help others in the future. I am now 65 and 3/4s  and will be hanging up my tape measure at the end of the month so it has taken some time to bring these matters to a good closure. It is satisfying knowing they did not get away with it and I would like to thank you so much for your persistence in retrieving the two fraudulently sold ratings appeals. A job well done. Yours sincerely - David

 

 

 
 

16th January 2017 - Kevin from Yorkshire saves himself over £1500.00 thanks to The Utility Bill Helpline

Kevin was misled by a business rate agent when they advised him they could reduce the rateable value at his premises and after taking our advice he has now saved himself over £1,500.00.

That was nearly four months ago and I have heard nothing since. Thanks - Kev

 
 
 

19th January 2017 - Frank from Lancashire gets his rateable value reduced by a further £2,350.00 thanks to The Utility Bill Helpline

Hi Charles - I confirm I have now revised the 2017 Draft List Rateable Value following review of the trade information you sent over. Attached is a Summary Valuation showing a breakdown of the revised Rateable Value - £12,150. I’ve now revised this in line with the net trade and get to an RV of £9,800 (Summary Valuation attached). In order to action this I have raised and cleared notice on our system today. This should then go on our weekly update schedule to the Billing Authority, with a notice to the property, and the VOA website updated in due course. Kind regards - Mark

 

 
 
 

20th January 2017 - Barclays refund Graham in full for an upfront fee he paid on his debit card in March 2013 for an alleged business rates appeal

Graham from Derbyshire has just e-mailed us advising that Barclays have refunded him in full the sum of £564.00 for an upfront payment he made to a company called Mason James and Company Limited on his Debit Card during March 2013 for an alleged business rates appeal.

Hello  Charles
 
I have had a credit paid into the business account of £564 which I assume is the Mason James Refund.
 
Barclays confirmation letter for the funds recovery from Mason James is attached for your records.
 
Thank You
 
Regards

 

Graham

 

Barclays wrote as follows:

About your disputed transaction.

With reference to your dispute, relating to the account detailed above and our previous correspondence. Our approach to Mason James and Company's bank has been successful and we have recovered the disputed funds. Your account will now be credited with 564.00/GBP.

Your patience throughout has been appreciated and we hope our response resolves the dispute.

Yours sincerely,

Your Barclays Team

 
 

26th January 2017 - Anne from Lancashire gets her business rates reduced thanks to The Utility Bill Helpline

During 2014 Anne from Lancashire paid a business rate agent over £800.00 to appeal her business rates and like so many others once she had paid her money upfront nothing else was done on her behalf leaving her not only out of pocket for the upfront fee they took but also not knowing if her business rates were correct or not. As this agent had submitted a compiled list appeal against Anne's premises The VOA would not let her submit another case on the same grounds due to the Non Domestic Rating Regulations.

Anne activated her membership to The Utility Bill Helpline when she saw our website and decided to see if we could do anything to help her out.

We contacted The VOA in relation to Anne's premises and advised them that we felt the rateable value on the premises was incorrect and asked them to inspect the premises which they did once they had seen our evidence. Today The VOA have e-mailed us as follows.

I inspected this property on Tuesday and undertook a complete re-survey. I attach my revised valuation based upon my inspection and am able to offer you a reduction to a revised RV £12,000.

 

If you wish to discuss the case further then please do contact me. Alternatively, if you client is happy to agree my revised assessment please can you sign and return the attached agreement form.

 

Sincerely,

 

David

 

Thanks to us Anne's rateable value has now been reduced down from £12,500.00 per year to £12,000.00 backdated and effective from the 01st April 2015 which means Anne will now be getting a refund of approximately £700.00 from her Local Council.

 
 

17th February 2017 - The Royal Bank of Scotland refunds Vesna´s Charge Card in full the sum of £450.00 for an upfront payment taken by Mason James & Company Limited

On the 16th July 2013 Mason James & Company Limited took £450.00 from Vesna's Charge Card for an alleged business rates appeal where they verbally guaranteed her that they would reduce the business rates on her premises. Now nearly 4 years later thanks to The Utility Bill Helpline The Royal Bank of Scotland have fully refunded Vesna's Charge Card and even though she no longer has this card they will be sending her a cheque for the full £450.00.

I received this letter (attached) today from RBS, looks like they have put up a lot of excuses but they are honouring the refund.

Do I just sign and return and that’s done?

I also had a visit at the shop today from a rates assessor for another business rates company.

After looking around the shop premises, he believed he could reduce my forthcoming business rate bill from 22k (due April 2017) to 11k with an appeal to the valuation office?

He then continued to say that all I need to do was fill in a form, and pay his fees!!!

Needless to say I didn’t 

Please advise?  How can they do this??

Many thanks for your help with RBS, couldn't of done that on my own!!

I am now very wary of anyone who offers services regarding business rates, so I would never get into anything like that again !!

Many Thanks

Vesna 

28th February 2017 - Adrian from Lancashire reduces his business energy costs thanks to The Utility Bill Helpline

Good morning Charles - I have obtained the following rates for my business from Scottish Power
Day Meter 27p per day,       12.40p/kwh
Night Meter 10p per day,    10.13p/kwh
These prices are held for 48 hours, so please get back to me within that time frame if you possibly can. These rates work out cheaper than my current supplier, who are currently charging: 
Day- 21.1p and13.23pkwh
Night-21.1p and 8.97pkwh
Their proposed new rate is:
Day-24.7p and 15.49pkwh
Night-24.7p and 8.74pkwh - Regards Adrian

 

16th March 2017 - Ian from Yorkshire saves himself just under £700.00 thanks to The Utility Bill Helpline

Ian from Yorkshire was being threatened by the Solicitor of a so called business rates agent where they were claiming that Ian owed just under £700.00 for their alleged services.

No contact from either party at all 
Cheers Ian

Thanks to our advice Ian no longer is liable for the amount they were attempting to bully him into paying after they told him they could reduce the business rates at his premises.

 

01st April 2017 - A member from South Wales gets a full refund from Lloyds after being misled by a business rate agent during 2009 thanks to The Utility Bill Helpline

One of our members has just e-mailed us advising that his Lloyds Credit Card has refunded him in full the sum of £575.00 after Hammer Properties charged him an upfront fee during July 2009.

Hi  

 

I had a phone call this morning from Lloyds Card Services with a few more questions about Hammer Properties. They called back again later to say that the full amount of £575 would be refunded to me. I haven't had that in writing but they took my bank account details & said I should have the funds by Tuesday next week. The lady handling it was very helpful & asked me to email her if there are any problems.

 

Thank you for your work.

 

Cheers

 

Hi 

 

I can confirm that I received £575.00 (refund in full) from Lloyds Card services, April 3rd, 2017.

 

I would like to take this opportunity to express my complete satisfaction at your handling of of my claim with Lloyds, regarding the mis-selling I experienced with Hammer Properties. You were thorough, clear & prompt with your communication, keeping me fully updated & informed of the process, throughout. Such diligence, no doubt led to the successful outcome.

 

Thanks to The Utility Bill Helpline this member has now been refunded in full some 8 years after being misled by this Company.

 

 

04th April 2017 - James from Hertfordshire gets his 2017 rateable value reduced by £15,750.00 a year thanks to The Utility Bill Helpline

James claimed he had been misled by three business rate agents in relation to the 2010 rating list when Higgins and Thomas Limited, Pearl Davenport and Logan Limited and Leighton Clark Associates Limited all told him that they would reduce the business rates on his premises in return for their large upfront fees. We contacted The Valuation Office on behalf of James and they advised us that there were very little grounds to contest the 2010 RV on his premises so in October 2016 when the 2017 draft valuation was available we immediately advised The Valuation Office that his premises was now over assessed and after 6 months they have now agreed to reduce the RV on the premises by £15,750.00 per year. This means over the 2017 to 2022 rating period James will save himself nearly £40,000.00 in payable business rates.

Morning Charles,

 

I can confirm the 2017 has been reduced from £49,750 to £34,000.

 

Thank you!

 

Kind Regards

Christina 

BSc (Hons) | Executive Officer | Valuation Office Agency (VOA)

 

 

10th April 2017 - Thanks to The Utility Bill Helpline Meryl from Cheshire has now received a payment from a client who owed an outstanding balance for the supply of goods

Meryl from Cheshire was owed the sum of 338.00 pounds against an invoice she had issued for the supply of goods on the 13th February 2016 and now thanks to The Utility Bill Helpline she has received not only a response to her correspondence but an initial payment of 100.00 pounds against this old outstanding debt.

Mr.F paid £100.00 on card on
Saturday 8/4/17. Promised to pay some more this week, but we
will see. Will let you know if he pays any more off his balance.
 
Meryl
 
Mr.F outstanding balance.  Has paid £120.00 in cash today 8/5/17
 
Meryl
 
Mr. F has paid £50.00 on card 21/07/17.  Which leaves an amount
of £68.00 oweing, promising to pay the balance a week later  Nothing else since..
It is slow going but gradually getting close.
 
Meryl
 
Regarding Balance for Mr. F paid £68.00 on the 18/8/17.  This finishes the debt owed.
 
Many thanks,
Meryl.
 

18th April 2017 - Philip from Herefordshire saves £6,398.09 thanks to The Utility Bill Helpline

Hi Charles - Thank you for sorting out my high bills for business rates, I have in the past trusted others to sort out this problem with no result. You have been very pro-active, quick and responded instantly to all my emails. I cannot thank you enough for rectifying this situation and saving the company a great deal of money. Job well done 👍 Kind regards - Phil 

 

03rd May 2017 - Martyn from Devon gets a full refund for just under Five Hundred Pounds thanks to The Utility Bill Helpline

During October 2011 Martyn paid a business rates agent just under Five Hundred Pounds for thier alleged services on his Limited Company Credit Card and now nearly 6 years later he has received a full refund.

Good news Charles - Success

 

10th May 2017 - James from Oxfordshire asks The Utility Bill Helpline to help sort out an Energy Billing problem with Eon

James has been a member of The Utility Bill Helpline now for over 12 months and he has now asked us to look into a demand he has recently received from Eon.

I have an issue with my current electricity provider Eon. They have under estimated my usage since the start of my contract which started in October 2014. I received a letter today stating that they will be increasing my direct debit from £628 to £3,630 starting from the 15th May 2017 up until the 15th September 2017. This huge sum will kill my cash flow with in a couple of months and put the business in jeopardy.
 
The rate that I was contracted on was high and having spoken to them, they don't feel that they will be able to compete with competitors prices and therefore I am unlikely to renew my contract with them.
 
I have attached the latest letters and bills for you to see. Can you help me settle this situation and look at better options for my electricity going forward.
 
Keenly awaiting your thoughts and response on this matter.
 
James
 
We are currently awaiting to hear from Eon so that we can try to assist James further with this matter.
 

12th May 2017 - Donna from Suffolk asks The Utility Bill Helpline to help sort out a contract problem with BT

Donna has been a member of The Utility Bill Helpline now since the 01st December 2016 and has just e-mailed us to help out with a contractual issue she has with BT.

Are you able to assist us with some advice and with (hopefully!) switching our business broadband/telephone package?

We have been with BT since September 2015 (when we opened).  The costs seem to increase regularly and there are much cheaper packages on the market now.  We have just spoken with BT regarding the termination of our package with them, which, as far as we are concerned, should be able to take effect from September 2017.  They have informed us that although we do have a 2 year package for our broadband and phone rates, the overall contract behind the line rental is for 5 years, ie September 2020.  In order to extract ourselves from this contract, they were quoting an early termination fee of around £1400.

When speaking with BT, we had in front of us two letters, one in reference to broadband and the other in reference to our call package.  These letters are dated August 2015 and September 2015.  Both letters clearly state a "minimum period" of 24 months, so, having received those letters, we had no reason to think any contract was for 5 years.  Our initial order with BT was handled during a phone call.  BT claim that, during that phone call we were clearly informed that the full contract was for 5 years.  They also state that this information was laid out in the fist bill we would have received from them (which we do not currently have in front of us because it is with our Accountant).  The date of this bill would have obviously been after the date of the two confirmation letters we refer to above, which we placed in our file.  We do not think it is unreasonable that we would not have closely examined the minute details of the first bill, having received the earlier confirmation letters, which, I reiterate, did not indicate a 5 year term.  In addition, our recollection and notes of the telephone disussion with BT do not reflect any understanding that we were signing up for a 5 year contract, only 2 years, at which time we believed we could switch.

So, the situation we now have is that we can cancel our broadband and phone packages with BT in September 2017, but they are stating that, in order to cancel the line rental element, we will have to pay a penalty, which basically covers the line rental charges for the 3 years between September 2017 and September 2020.  Have you come across this situation before?  In your opinion/experience, do we have any option to get out of this ridiculous situation? 

Any advice would be much appreciated.

Regards.

Donna

We are currently waiting to hear back from Donna, at which point we will assist her in any way we can to resolve this matter to try and ensure she is not held liable for this ridiculous cancellation fee.

 

13th May 2017 - Jason from Leicestershire to be granted a One Thousand Pounds reduction from his Local Council thanks to The Utility Bill Helpline

Jason has been a member of The Utility Bill Helpline now since the 31st August 2016 and thanks to us he is now about to receive a reduction against his business rates which will help the cash flow at his business from the 01st April 2017.

Morning,

Sorry about the delay, I rang them the other day and they informed me that the government had not told them how they were going to sort out the reduction and that it would not be sorted until after the election.
 
Regards,

Jason
 
 

23rd May 2017 - David from Gloucestershire asks us to help sort out a mis-selling issue he claims he has had with a Solar Water Heating System Company

Hi, I have attached all the documentation with regard to the miss-selling of the solar water heating system.  It is our contention that 1. The system was sold with grossly exaggerated claims as to the energy savings. 2. The materials used were not to the correct specification for a solar water heating system. Regards - David

 

24th May 2017 - Rebecca from Herefordshire to be granted a One Thousand Pounds reduction against her business rates bill thanks to The Utility Bill Helpline

Rebecca has been a member now for 18 months and is making the most of her membership of The Utility Bill Helpline by using our services in trying to reduce some of her core Utility Costs whilst running her business.

Hi, I sent letter into council. It was hand delivered on Monday 24th April.

Yes they have but said they've not been given the go ahead yet but when they do then it'll be taken off. 
Many thanks Rebecca

 

Rhani from Yorkshire asks The Utility Bill Helpline to try and help her in relation to an Energy Dispute

Hi - I wonder if you can help me on a bill we’ve received We had a house rented out and and the tenants left in May 2016 but didn’t tell them they wanted to cancel their account. The property got a bill from Flow and we just ignored them as we didn’t have a contract. Eventually we did open 1 as it was addressed to the owner. This is where we found a bill – so I called them and they said as the owner of the house we took the bills on. So we did use the gas and electric whilst cleaning ready to sell as the tenants left it in a right mess. They said we’d have to pay the whole bill which includes the standing charge for each energy. We’ve signed no contract with them. Thank you - Rhani

 

 

Kostas from Yorkshire contacts us over a problem with a business rates agent and his Gas supplier

Kostas paid nearly One Thousand Pounds to a business rates agent upfront for a business rates appeal against the 2010 rating list and he is also using his membership to the full by asking for our help in trying to resolve an issue he has with his Gas supplier at the business.

Hi ,
sorry for the late reply I have just been very busy 
I don't want you to think that I have been ignoring your e-mails  
Except the Rate's Company I have an issue as well with my current Gas supplier
The business rates company charged us and it was around 2012 and we paid them by cheque
Regarding my gas supplier I will forward to you The statements I have received from them
I am looking forward to hear from you.
Regards 
KOSTAS
 

01st June 2017 - Sandra from Wales gets her 2017 Rateable value reduced thanks to The Utility Bill Helpline after she claims she was misled by a business rates agent

The Valuation Office have just written to us and advised that since we sent them Sandra´s trade figures in relation to her premises on the 28th March 2017 they have now reduced her rateable value down from 22,000.00 to 19,500.00 on the 02nd May 2017 which is effective from the 01st April 2017. Over the five-year rating list this will equate to an approximate saving of Twelve Thousand Five Hundred Pounds for Sarah and her business helping with her cash flow.

 

 

John from Herefordshire asks The Utility Bill Helpline to try and help him resolve a mis-selling issue over a Facebook Advertising Campaign

John is making the most of his membership by asking The Utility Bill Helpline to try and help him get his money back for an advertising scam in relation to a Facebook Advertising Campaign where he and his business were told that if he took up their offer his telephone would never stop ringing.

The real issue here is that I agreed to pay the first 621.00 by credit card and was told it was a one off payment. He also told me that one customer said the phone never stopped ringing. As you know i received nothing ,then they rolled over the same amount on my credit card .This is where I have been ripped off.
regards john

We are currently trying to dispute this matter for John with his Card provider.

 

Val and Steve ask The Utility Bill Helpline to try and help them resolve a mis-selling issue over a Treadmill they purchased

Back in September I emailed you for your help with a Treadmill purchase, unfortunately despite various telephone conversations and several promises to resolve our issue we are still no further on.  Please could we ask you for your assistance.  I have attached a copy of the order and the credit agreement, along with correspondence.  The credit agreement and order were taken out in Steve’s fathers name as it is a two way joint purchase.  The Treadmill is actually located here at our home address. Technogym have repaired the Treadmill twice and on the third fault we have asked for a full refund.  After the first fault we were advised that Technogym would replace the main electronics console if the fault re occurred, however because this was to be expensive they changed just a sensor on the second call out.  We have lost all faith and confidence in the companies involved and also the machine itself. Please can you advise what our legal position is and how we move forward.  If you remember we were totally mis-sold the machine in the first instance by Fitness Superstore. Thanking you in advance - Val & Steve

We have also received a letter from the finance company today relating to the treadmill issue.  They have launched an investigation into the matter.  I will scan the letter over to you tomorrow once Ged has given it to Steve. Kind regards - Val

 

08th June 2017 - Dom from Yorkshire gets his rateable value reduced by Two Thousand Pounds thanks to The Utility Bill Helpline

Dom has been a member of The Utility Bill Helpline for over a year now and thanks to us we have arranged for his rateable value to be reduced down from 16,500.00 to 14,500.00 effective from the 01st April 2015. Additionally, his 2017 rateable value was also reduced for the next 5 years down from 17,250.00 to 15,750.00 thanks to this reduction against the 2010 rating list.

Dear Mr ,

Thank you for your email and photos.

A report is outstanding to look at the issues that you have raised, regarding wall insulation, WCs, land etc.

The survey already shows that the building is unheated.

We will inspect the property as soon as we can and make any necessary corrections.

Regards,

Lynne - Caswork Support Team - VOA

Dom´s premises had previously been challenged by 3 business rate agents none of which resulted in a reduction against the premises. This negligence may have cost the business from the 01st April 2010 up to the 31st March 2015 due to The Utility Bill Helpline being unable to contest this period due to the changes made by The Valuation Office when they extended the 2010 rating list by an additional 2 years.

Dom should now receive a refund of around Two Thousand Pounds in overpaid business rates from his Local Council and will be paying around Seven Hundred and Fifty Pounds less a year in business rates from the 01st April 2017 up to the 31st March 2022 thanks to The Utility Bill Helpline.

 

 

Jacky makes the most of her membership by asking The Utility Bill Helpline to look into an advertising mis-selling claim for 5,700.00 Pounds

Army & Navy Club and HM The Queen's Diamond Jubilee album

Hi,

I paid to be in the attached book, it was quite a lot of money , but as it was backed by celebrities, I thought it was safe. They consequently took everyones money, and declared bankrupt without publishing and circulation the hardback book.
It was advertising  in a rather nice book circulated to high net worth individuals, that never happened .
Their invoice was number 00168 for a total of 5,700.00 including VAT, 4,750.00 ex vat.
Thoughts?
Regards Jacky
 
 

12th June 2017 - Peter from Buckinghamshire has One Thousand Pounds taken off his business rates bill thanks to The Utility Bill Helpline

Peter joined The Utility Bill Helpline as he advised us that he had been previously misled by 3 different business rate agents:

I had 3 business rates agents who said they could reduce my business rates: One who came to see me, but did not pay anything, The second I paid approx £430 and also I believe came to see me and said I would get a large sum back. The third who saw me and said they could get money from my Business rates who I paid £1500 . They I know are now not trading and I should of not bothered after the first one foolishly. Thanks

Peter

Peter has just sent us over a letter from his Local Council advising him that they will be deducting One Thousand Pounds from his business rates bill for the 2017/18 financial year helping Peter with his monthly cash flow whilst he is running his business.

Hi,
I enclose a copy of a letter from my Locacl Council for your attention 
Thanks
Peter

 

 

Richard & Debbie make the most of their membership by asking The Utility Bill Helpline for help with their Merchant Facility & Broadband at their business

Could you help with the following items please.Our current supplier of our credit card machines is RMS and Elavon. We have had loads of problems and I will be sending them an email this morning and will copy you in it. Could you find the best supplier for us please. Our broadband and internet is with BT and is currently out of contract so would like to find the best deal for the pub. We allow our customers free access to the broadband so that would need to be unlimited.

Richard

I have recently been having many issues with my machines here at The Pub. The main terminal Merchant ID 21******** keeps showing and red light and wont work new updates have been installed several times and not being able to batch at the end of the day.On the 10th April I ended up being on hold for 1 hr then another 30 mins with an advisor trying to fix the machines. I am not happy with the service being received and would like to know when our contract will be coming to an end.

Debbie

 

16th June 2017 - Melanie is making the most of her membership by asking The Utility Bill Helpline to look at the Energy renewal at her premises.

Melanie has already saved One Thounsand Pounds off her business rates bill thanks to The Utility Bill Helpline and now she has contacted us over her electricity supply at her business.

Hi my electricity is up for renewal do you look at this type of thing?

My supplier at the moment is Eon and I have received a renewal letter.  Contract ends on 16th August 2017

Many Thanks

Mel

 

We are currently waiting to receive further information from Melanie, after which, we will advise her accordingly on this matter.

 

21st June 2017 - Michael gets One Thousand Pounds off his business rates bill thanks to The Utility Bill Helpline

Michael has just e-mailed us in relation to his premises after we wrote to his Local Council on his behalf:

Hi 

£1000 small business allowance now on my 2017 bill.

The business rates agent did come out and see me, I was told that my rates would be definitely reduced and I paid them an up-front fee.

 

We are now looking into Michaels claim that he was previously misled by this agent, after which we will be advising him accordingly on this matter.

 

22nd June 2017 - Anne is using her membership to the full by asking The Utility Bill Helpline to look at her Energy at some of their business premises

Anne has just e-mailed us in relation to the Electricity at her premises 

 

Hi 

I was wondering if you could help we have 4 pubs up for electric renewal.

We are with British Gas, and due for renewal end of July 2017

 

Kind Regards

Anne
 
We are currently waiting to receive further information from Anne, after which, we will advise her accordingly on this matter.
 

26th June 2017 - Gillian contacts The Utility Bill Helpline for help after paying nearly Two Thousand Pounds in upfront fees to business rates agents

Hi,

Yes, they did a survey of our premises and said that they would definitely be able to get the rates reduced. We had to pay the fee upfront before they would contact the valuation office.  Both my husband and myself met their representative.

As we have still not heard anything from them regarding our rates will you be able to deal with the Valuation Hearing for us please?

Kind regards 

Gillian

 

The Utility Bill Helpline has now written to The Valuation Office on their behalf in our attempts to try and sort this matter out for our member.

 

 

 

27th June 2017 - Karen from Nottinghamshire to get One Thousand Pounds relief from her Local Council thanks to The Utility Bill Helpline

Karen joined The Utility Bill Helpline directly via our website as she felt she had been misled by a business rates agent whom she paid an upfront fee of nearly One Thousand Pounds to reduce the business rates at her premises.

I was told for a fee they would get my business rates reduced and as there was a deadline payment had to be made prompt. I think they did attend for about 10 minutes to see my recent bills, as I remember the guy was a bit scruffy but positive he could get my bill reduced and he did badger me for the payment.
Regards
Karen

Now thanks to The Utility Bill Helpline Karen is going to pay less in business rates for the 2017/18 financial year which will help with her cash flow at the business.

Letter from council, sorry forgot to forward this to you.

He confirmed that we are in the criteria to get the discount and has stopped our august payment for them to have time to apply the discount before for Septembers payment.

 

I will confirm when this has been sorted but I don’t see this happening until early September.

Regards

Karen

 

 

Yet another member advises The Utility Bill Helpline that thanks to us they will now be receiving a One Thousand Pounds relief from their Local Council against their business rates

When Keith became a member of The Utility Bill Helpline he advised us that he had been misled by 2 different business rate agents for which he paid nearly Two Thousand Pounds in upfront fees. 

Yes both companies said that they could save me money and I'd go as far as to say that they made it sound like a done deal based on "other client results". In both cases they attended the premises, looked around, took pictures and I believe in both cases made some external measurements. They looked very believable. Regards - Keith

Now thanks to The Utility Bill Helpline Keith will be getting a One Thousand Pounds reduction in his business rates for the 2017/18 financial year and now we will be looking into any mis-selling claim Keith may have.

I did what you have asked and I received the attached back a few days ago - Keith

 

Richard advises The Utility Bill Helpline that thanks to us he will shortly be receiving a One Thousand Pounds reduction off his business rates

Thank you

In regards to the £1000 I have a letter that I will forward to you.

25th July 2017 - Catherines¨s business rates to be reduced by £2,673.48 thanks to The Utility Bill Helpline

Hello

I have just received this from Mr Rock

 

Kind Regards

 

Catherine

 

Many thanks – Yes that is a lovely surprise.

 

Mr Rock has just confirmed that Catherine´s business rates will now be Two Thouand Six Hundred and Seventy Three Pounds & 48 pence less thanks to The Utility Bill Helpline which will greatly assist Catherine with her cash flow over the next 12 months.

 

 

Yet another member advises The Utility Bill Helpline that thanks to us they will now be receiving a One Thousand Pounds relief from their Local Council against their business rates

David from Buckinghamshire has recently been advised that thanks to The Utility Bill Helpline he will be receiving a One Thousand Pounds discount from his 2017/18 business rates bill.

Hi,
 
Reply from RBWM attached at last.
 
Kind regards, David
 
 

16th August 2017 - 7 more members advise us that their business rates are going to be reduced thanks to The Utility Bill Helpline

Hi there 
I've received a reply from Newark And Sherwood and intend to send the slip back in the next couple of days.
Regards - Bob
 
Hi and yes they have got back to me and have said that the £1000 will be credited to my account in due course.
Thanks - Gerry
 
Yes they have applied the discount 
Many thanks - Lee
  

Hi Please see response from Wakefield Council in regard to my business rates.

Thanks - Marcus 

 

Morning I can confirm that I have received my amended bill showing the £1000 rate relief.
Many Thanks
Mike
 
Good afternoon
Please find attached the letter from Calderdale rates to advise us we now have a £1000 pub rates relief Fr 2017/18 - Rhani
 

Hello Paul,

 

******** ***** District Council has not yet allocated any of the funds under the scheme you have mentioned. We are in the process of developing a scheme to allocate these funds and it is likely this will be in place by October.

 

As it appears that you will also be receiving the £1000 relief I would be happy for you to pay less than your currently billed instalments for 2017/18 until this relief can be applied to your account. If you would like to do this please let me know and I will do a provisional calculation for you.

 

In the meantime, if you have any further queries regarding this matter, please contact me directly on the details below.

 

Kind regards - Steven - Business Rates Technical Officer

 

17th August 2017 - Nick from Devon gets £150.00 compensation from Lloyds thanks to The Utility Bill Helpline

Nick from Devon has just sent us over a letter from Lloyds where they have now agreed to uphold his complaint and have now agreed to refund him £150.00 in compensation due to the time it has taken for Lloyds to deal with any mis-selling claim he may have. 
 
Hello
I have attached a letter received from Lloyds Credit Card company in relation to my complaint against the business rates agent. They are asking for more information in regards to the case, I have also attached my contract with the business rates agent for you to consider. The contract does state they will represent me in any tribunal but I don't think they even attended that meeting and therefore the case was dismissed and appeal therefore was unsuccessful.
I do feel if this information is correct then Lloyds Bank would need to know this and therefore the agent would surely be in breach of contract.
I look forward to your response
Kind Regards - Nick
 
We will now advise Nick further on this matter in relation to any claim he may have against Lloyds.
 

04th September 2017 - Thanks to The Utility Bill Helpline Ian will now pay less in business rates from the 01st April 2017

Ian had his rateable value set at 16,000.00 from the 01st April 2017 which The Utility Bill Helpline has now split for him with The Valuation Office which means he will now pay less in business ratees to his Local Council as he can now claim small business rates relief reducing the business rates payable.

Dear Sir/Madam

SUBJECT - NON DOMESTIC RATING LIST ACKNOWLEDGEMENT OF YOUR ENQUIRY

Thank you for your further enquiry received on 1st September 2017 for the below mentioned property(ies).

We  apologise for the delay in responding to you. The split has now taken place and the Notice should be issued this week following our Rating List update on Tuesday.

If you have any questions on receipt of Notice, or further information that you think is relevant, then please contact us by one of the methods listed below where a member of the Rating Team will be pleased to help you.

For more information on Business Rates visit our website at www.voa.gov.uk

Yours faithfully - NDR East Support Team 

11th September 2017 - Stuart gets 473.29 taken off his 2017 business rates bill by his Local Council thanks to The Utility Bill Helpline

Hi - Thanks for the email. I have received a recalculated business rates bill recently which has reduced my monthly rates. I’m not entirely sure if it is correct as I don’t know if the relevant discounts have been applied or applied correctly. I have attached a scanned copy of the bill if you would like to check - Regards - Stuart

 

 

13th September 2017 - One of our members receives a full refund plus interest for £1,020.00 for an upfront fee they paid to a business rates agent for their alleged services

Morning - Just to let you know my credit card company have credited me the full fee plus interest of £1,020.00. I would like to thank you for all your help in this matter. Many thanks
 

26th September 2017 - Donald e-mails us for help concerning a mis-selling issue he has with a Credit Card transaction.

Hope you are keeping well and your business is flourishing. You were successful in helping me with a claim against Natwest Bank after a payment for a rate valuation that never happened. I was wondering if you could please advise me on a matter regarding my personal credit card. I think I have been conned into purchasing something I didn't want. Looking forward to hearing from you.
Kind Regards - Donald
 
 

02nd October 2017 - Thanks to The Utility Bill Helpline Paul C is now going to pay less in business rates for the 2017/18 financial year

Hello,

Yes, I am happy with the authority given.

The relief has not yet been applied to Mr C’s account. There have been problems with the software supplied to allow us to award the reliefs announced by the Government after the bills for the year had been issued. We are now expecting them to be issued week commencing 16th October. Until this issue can be resolved and new bills issued a hold has been placed on Mr C’s account to prevent any letters being sent in respect of it.

Kind regards - Business Rates Technical Officer

 

 

05th October 2017 - Paul M gets his rateable value reduced to 7,000.00 from the 01st September 2015 thanks to The Utility Bill Helpline

Dear Charles,

Having looked at all the evidence available to me, I am prepared to reduce your client’s 2010 List Rateable Value to £7,000 with effect from 1 September 2015.  The RV will remain at £7,000 for the duration of the 2010 List.  It is my opinion that this fairly reflects the impact of the opening of the C D on the annual rental value of the subject hereditament and whether the hypothetical landlord would accept a reduced rental bid as a result.

I have attached an agreement form for your consideration.

Kind regards 

Lorraine Valuation Office Agency (VOA)

 

 

27th October 2017 - Chris gets his business rates reduced by 1,832.50 for the 2017/18 financial year thanks to The Utility Bill Helpline

On the 27th October 2017 Chris sent us his new amended business rates bill showing the 1,832.50 reduced liability which will help Chris with his cashflow over this financial year.

 

Paul gets One Thousand Pounds deducted from his business rates bill for the 2017/18 financial year thanks to The Utility Bill Helpline

Hi

Please note that a new rating bill has been issued on the 10th November 2017 with the £1000 discount.

Thanks - Paul

 

 

15th November 2017 - Ben gets 318.30 off his 2017/18 business rates bill thanks to The Utility Bill Helpline

Ben sent us a copy of his new business rates bill dated the 15th November 2017 after we wrote to his local council advising them that he may be due additional discounts off his business rates bill for the 2017/18 financial year.

Morning yes we had a letter from them, we had a rebate of 318.00.

 

15th January 2018 - Sheffield Local Council grants Tara 544.38 off her 2017/18 business rates bill thanks to The Utility Bill Helpline

On the 07th November 2017 we wrote to Tara´s Local Council in relation to her 2017/18 business rates bill as we had calculated that the bill they had issued at the start of the financial year was incorrect - Now thanks to The Utility Bill Helpline she is 544.38 better off which will help with her cash flow for this financial year.

Hi, 
This is great thanks. Tx
 

Thanks to The Utility Bill Helpline yet another member has received a discount against their business rates bill for the 2017/18 financial year

On viewing the amended business rates bill sent by their Local Council we can see that a credit for the sum of 1,206.85 has now been applied to their business rates bill for the 2017/18 financial year.

As per request

19th January 2018 - Richard gets a discount against his business rates bill for the 2017/18 financial year thanks to The Utility Bill Helpline

Dear Utility Bill Helpline

The details were put onto the account on the 15th November 2017

and the discount is awarded from the 1st April 2017 for 168.00.

Yours sincerely

Fiona McKelalr

Revenues Officer

 

 

01st February 2018 - Donald gets a full refund to his credit card for the sum of 4137.97 taken on the 01st September 2017 by a Timeshare Company thanks to The Utility Bill Helpline

I have just received the enclosed communication from Natwest. I will not be able to check if the funds have actually gone into my credit card account until my next statement arrives. Does this mean that it is almost certain we will be being permanently reimbursed with the full amount or is it possible the companies could contest it and take the money back? Thank you very much for the service you have provided. I fully understand your view on the CLC matter and appreciate you being frank and honest unlike some companies out there who drag things out and make promises just to keep extracting more money from you. It is as always a pleasure to deal with genuine people like yourselves that you can trust. I will now get rid of all the documentation connected with it. All our best wishes to you and your team. Thanks again for all your help and I will keep you informed of future developments.
Kind Regards
Donald
 
 

05th March 2018 - Amanda gets her rateable value reduced thanks to The Utility Bill Helpline

On the 02nd February 2018 The Valuation Office agreed to reduce the rateable value on Amandas premises from the 01st April 2015 to the 31st March 2017 down from 14,250.00 to 13,500.00. Amanda previously paid two large upfront fees of 834.00 (1,668.00 in total) for two other companies to contest her rateable value on her premises and like so many others once the fees were paid nothing else was done on her behalf.

 

14th March 2018 - Ash gets £325.00 in compensation from Barclaycard thanks to The Utility Bill Helpline for the way they dealt with his mis-selling claim

 Yes I confirm they have credit our acct with £325.00 - regards - Ash

 

03rd April 2018 - A Member from Cheshire gets an £834 .00 refund for a payment taken during 2014

Yet another member receives a full refund for an upfront fee paid for a transaction which took place nearly 4 years ago.

Sent: 03 April 2018 12:00
To: Utility Bill Helpline
Hi - Yes we have recieved it - Regards
 
 

HSBC refund David from Kent in full £600.00 against a payment made to Hammer Properties after only 3 months

'HSBC have just refunded my card account with £600.00 it's a great start' 

 

 

07th June 2018 - Another business gets their business rates reduced thanks to The Utility Bill Helpline

Tracey from Lancashire gets her 2017 rateable value reduced effective from the 01st April 2017

Date Check submitted: 22 March 2018

Date Check completed: 07 June 2018

 

Decision

 

Based on the information provided, we have accepted the proposed changes to the property’s details and the rateable value has been altered. Your client has been notified of this decision.

As the 2010 rating list is now closed for amendments we are restricted by legislation and are unable to replicate the changes to the assessment  in this list .  We have served transition relief and your client will receive a separate notice regarding this.

 

Summary of changes

 

Floor range end amended to GF

Full central heating removed

 

Valuation Office Agency on behalf of the Valuation Officer

  

 

13th June 2018 - Another business gets their business rates reduced thanks to The Utility Bill Helpline

Ray from Cumbria gets his 2017 rateable value reduced effective from the 01st April 2017

Date Check submitted: 13 April 2018

Date Check completed: 13 June 2018

 

Decision

 

Based on the information provided, we have accepted some of the proposed changes to the property’s details and the rateable value has been altered. Your client has been notified of this decision.

Summary of changes

 

Following a review of the submitted trade information the rateable value has been reduced

 

Valuation Office Agency on behalf of the Valuation Officer

 

 

25th June 2018 - Ian from Gloucestershire gets Pub relief applied to his business rates bill thanks to The Utility Bill Helpline

When Ian sent us in his business rates bill we could see that his Local Council had nott apllied Pub Relief to his premises so we wrote to his Local Council about this and on the 31st May 2018 his Local Council confirmed that this releif was now on his business rates bill.

 

01st August 2018 - Another member receives a full refund for over 2,000.00 for a mis-selling issue they had previously written off.

Dear utility bill helpline, my last communication with you showed that we had got the result and gained the full amount back. Many thanks for your help in this matter. 

 

 

07th September 2018 - Another member saves themselves over 2,200.00 thanks to The Utility Bill Helpline

I have just received a telephone call and thay have said that we now owe them money.....additioanlly I have received the following e-mail. Please advise as to where we stand on this situation. Thankyou - Liz

 

 

 

15th October 2018 - Another business gets their business rates reduced thanks to The Utility Bill Helpline

Vesna from Shropshire gets her 2017 rateable value reduced effective from the 01st April 2017.

Challenge submission date: 11/05/2018
Firstly, sorry for the delay in replying.
Having considered your Challenge, we are proposing a change to the rating list. We have attached an agreement form, which outlines these changes and the terms of the agreement.
Thank you for sending your floor areas, considering the shape of the building it is unsurprising that there is differences between the details we hold and those you submitted.  However, those differences aren’t substantial and therefore we are able to accept the changes you propose.
We have also applied an allowance to the valuation to reflect that there is stairs from the main shop area to the rear shop area.  This has resulted in a reduction to £21,000 which we consider to be fair and reasonable and invite you to agree this figure.
Valuation Office Agency on behalf of the Valuation Officer
 

24th October 2018 - Paul from Derbyshire gets his business rates reduced thanks to The Utility Bill Helpline

Date Check submitted: 13 April 2018

Date Check completed: 24 October 2018

 

Decision

 

Based on the trade information provided, we have reviewed the fair maintainable trade (FMT) in the locality and accepted the proposed changes. The property's rateable value has been amended.

A property's fair maintainable trade (FMT) can vary from the actual trade of the property.

You can find more information on how we value licensed properties by searching for 'pubs and licensed trade' on the GOV.UK website.

Valuation Office Agency on behalf of the Valuation Officer

 

14th November 2018 - Another member gets their Rateable Value reduced thanks to The Utility Bill Helpline

Date Check submitted: 25 May 2018

Date Check completed: 07 November 2018

 

Decision

 

Based on the information provided, we have accepted your proposed changes to the property’s details and the rateable value has been altered.

 

Summary of changes

 

We have changed the property's floor areas and accommodation use classifications in line with the information provided.

 

Property valuation changes

 

Previous valuation

Effective date

New valuation

Effective date

£15,750

01 April 2017

£14,250

01 April 2017

You can see or request an updated detailed valuation by signing in to the Check and Challenge service.

 

What you need to do

 

You don't need to do anything, unless you are of the opinion that the rateable value or other information shown in the rating list is not correct. If so, you have the right to submit a Challenge.

A Challenge must be submitted by 07 March 2019 (4 months from the date of this notice). However, if your Challenge is regarding a change in the locality, you have 16 months from your Check submission date to submit a Challenge.

If you’ve appointed someone to act for you, a copy of this correspondence has been sent to them and you don’t need to do anything, this is just for your information.

 

What happens next

 

We will notify the relevant billing authority (council) of these changes.

If we receive a Challenge within the specified timeframe, we will send an acknowledgement along with a Challenge case reference number.

You can find more information on the Check and Challenge service by searching for 'Check and Challenge' on the GOV.UK website.

 

Valuation Office Agency on behalf of the Valuation Officer

 

17th January 2019 - Another member gets their Rateable Value reduced thanks to The Utility Bill Helpline

Thanks to The Utility Bill Helpline Amrik has had his rateable value reduced down from 22,250.00 to 21,250.00 effective from the 01st April 2017.

Do we really need to say any more about our membership? - Why let the scammers get away with the estimated 3.5 Billion Pounds they scam out of UK consumers each year - Click on your FREE 7 DAY TRIAL TODAY to see if we can help you with any mis-selling issue you may have had.

Login

Forgotten password?
Start your 7 day FREE trial now






Stay chilled: Lessons for district cooling from the Gulf Cooperation Council

Global demand for air-conditioning is projected to triple over the next 30 years, as the planet warms and urban populations grow, particularly in emerging markets. Meeting that demand will call for significant investments in new cooling infrastructure and the electrical generating capacity necessary to power it. Although traditional cooling technologies are expected to become more efficient in coming years, countries will need to plan for these additional loads, which will be expensive. Emerging markets can also make use of district cooling, an approach that the Gulf Cooperation Council (GCC), which consists of six Middle Eastern countries ? Saudi Arabia, Kuwait, the United Arab Emirates, Qatar, Bahrain, and Oman ? have successfully adopted.

VPPs with smart inverters offer crucial flexibility to the changing grid

Energy generation and consumption is rapidly transforming into a decentralized, decarbonized, and digitized model due to a number of market forces. The declining costs of solar energy systems, as well as the increasing price of energy from the grid has led to grid parity. This has caused PV proliferation to accelerate to such an extent that in the past five years alone, PV installed capacity has increased by 300%. Simultaneously, the EV market is also on the rise and is expected to reach the electrification tipping point by 2030. This is due to support from governments trying to limit the effects of climate change, thus leading to automotive manufactures transitioning their fleets from standard petrol- and diesel-powered cars to EVs. As a result of the acceleration of both of these markets, EV charging has created demand patterns causing an even steeper and faster ramp-up in the evenings than the PV duck curve. , This is causing the grid?s balancing act to be increasingly complex. In order to support this new energy dynamic, advanced management software is required to ensure grid stabilization and to unlock the value of these energy resources.

It's time for energy freedom in Alabama

Alabama is ranked 13th in the nation as having the greatest solar potential, yet only 0.26% of its energy comes from solar, leaving the state far behind others when it comes to total installed solar capacity. According to an annual report produced by the Solar Energy Industries Association (SEIA), Alabama ranked 29th in the United States for solar production in 2018. Solar in the Southeast, a blog dedicated to highlighting the ever-growing southeastern solar market, reported Alabama as ranking dead last in the seven-state southeastern region. By failing to adopt more solar, and other clean energy technologies, Alabama is missing out on lower energy prices, increased jobs in the solar economy, cleaner air and water, and a more resilient power infrastructure that protects our communities.

New Offering Will Help Utilities Better Manage DERs on Their Power Systems

At DistribuTECH 2018, Bentley Systems and Siemens are presenting their new applications for power utilities and industrial power facilities as part of the partnership, which the entities announced last year.

The newly released applications will aid users by enhancing Bentley?s OpenUtilities network management, design, and operations applications with new integrated analysis, design optimization, and distributed energy resource (DER) decision support capabilities enabled by Siemens? PSS SINCAL, according to the companies.